以潜水泵创新引领行业变革

2017年是世界上第一台飞力潜水泵诞生70周年。赛莱默回顾了潜水泵技术这些年取得的进步,并且展望了未来我们还能期待什么。2016年,赛莱默推出世界上第一个集成智能污水泵送系统。了解这项技术将如何得到进一步发展。

我们如何打造创新产品?每个行业的每家公司都会在某个时刻面临这个问题。早在1940年首批飞力泵投产时,我们的设计工程师就开始考虑这个问题。赛莱默长期以来成功的创新之路无疑归功于我们的开发人员的技术专长。不过,成功的创新离不开一个关键要素:了解客户的痛点和关键流程。

正是由于对客户需求的了解,瑞典埃马布达一位名为Sixten Englesson的工程师开始研究如何使用潜水泵排水。Sixten Englesson自上世纪40年代初便担任飞力泵设计工程师,他深知建筑行业的客户需要这种技术。这项认知激励他在1946年开始钻研解决方案和开发原型。

一年后,Englesson于1947年发布世界上第一台潜水排水泵的原型。这项创新将改变整个行业,使数百万人的工作生活变得更轻松,并且帮助企业更智能、更高效地开展工作。

潜水泵发生了多大的变化?

70多年来,赛莱默飞力品牌不断改进潜水污水泵送和搅拌。一路走来的每一步,赛莱默工程师都会问,我们的客户需要解决什么问题?多年来,该公司证明了创新是其DNA的一部分。该公司推出了多项先进技术,包括无堵塞叶轮、智能控制系统和高效泵站。

2016年,赛莱默推出世界上第一个集成智能污水泵送系统,再次创造历史。赛莱默飞力品牌一直专注于开发先进技术来帮助社区更智能、更具可持续性、更高效地开展工作,并且为他们营造更安全的环境。下面介绍了一些帮助赛莱默取得今日成就的故事。

全世界用新型泵做了什么

在1947年拍摄的一张黑白照片中,Sixten Englesson身穿深色西装,一只手插在口袋里,另一只手拿着第一台潜水排水泵的原型“Parrot Cage”。看着这张照片,你肯定猜不到这台潜水泵的用途。该潜水泵为加拿大运河排水,在非洲淘金,并且帮助从瑞典海底捞出一艘拥有330年历史的军舰。

Englesson的泵有何不同?在发明这款泵之前,从矿井中抽水或为工地排水必须将泵放在地面。这需要用到很多软管和平台,并且还得不断移动。泵经常会烧坏或被水淹没。很多泵与电机分开放置,占用了更多空间。

订阅我们的新闻通讯

虽然上世纪20年代就已推出清水潜水泵,但它们在较为艰苦的条件下无法运行。Englesson在这款潜水泵的基础上有所创新,采用双机械密封来保护电机。他还对泵进行了改造,通过输送介质来冷却电机。改良后的飞力B泵于1948年面市,并且很快就接到了来自世界各地的订单。

每个人都希望污水泵送变得更简单

飞力B泵的成功促使Englesson开始研究污水潜水泵。如果说排水是一项挑战,那么输送污水更具挑战性,因为介质是不可预测的。但Englesson萌生了一些能改变另一个行业的想法。

近10年后,飞力C泵于1956年推出,其很多功能节省了时间、空间和金钱。这是世界上第一台潜水污水泵。为了容纳污水,该泵需要更大的通过口,但主要创新是其自锁连接。工作人员只需把泵降低一些,便会自行连接。由于电机被整合进泵中,泵站也变小很多。这些特点降低了总投资成本。

不断成长的创新精神

Englesson的好奇心不仅限于泵,他对水产和鱼类养殖也很感兴趣。当他最终为了别的追求离开公司时,其创新精神仍在。在接下来的几十年里,飞力继续通过新技术和卓越创新来解决客户所面临的挑战。

上世纪90年代,工程师们发现一个亟需解决的严重问题:泵叶轮堵塞。每次发生污水泵堵塞,维护人员就必须前去疏通,不仅花费大,还浪费时间。更别提溢流问题和环境风险了。

为了解决这个问题,飞力于1997年推出第一台N泵。该泵采用无堵塞液压设计(名为N技术),可防止堵塞并减少计划外的维护成本。20年后,工程师们于2009年推出Adaptive N叶轮,进一步改进了这项设计。该叶轮向上移动,使较大的物体和垃圾得以通过。通过这些创新,赛莱默的客户现在可以期待无堵塞、高效率的污水泵送。

打造完美泵站

但还有许多事情要做。数十年来,很多泵站只不过是混凝土地面上的平底洞罢了。赛莱默的飞力工程师开始研究站内泵坑的形状对污水流量的影响。他们发现正确设计泵站底部的形状能减少不必要的沉积,从而大大提高效率,无需清洁。

1997年,飞力TOP泵站问世,该预先装配好的泵站解决方案具有卓越的性能。该泵站的设计增加了湍流,让更多固体能够从泵坑中排出。这最大限度地减少了泵下的残留物,在下一个泵周期即可移除。TOP泵站易于安装,其紧凑的设计也无需占用太多空间。

 打造全世界最智能的泵

从Sixten Englesson研发出第一台潜水排水泵至今,赛莱默的工程师们一直在接受最艰巨的挑战,为的是让客户的工作变得更简单。2016年,他们又研发出世界上第一个集成智能污水泵送系统——飞力Concertor。该智能系统能感知环境作业条件、实时调整性能并向泵站操作员提供反馈。

飞力Concertor还给泵送系统带来了前所未有的灵活性。该系统的性能曲线潜力无穷,并且已预先装配好,节省了安装时间和成本。

该系统在一个集成解决方案中将内置泵坑和管道清洁功能相结合,能解决漂浮物以及管道沉积问题。这种泵清洁功能,加上Adaptive N液压技术,能有效发现并解决大垃圾堵塞问题。

总的来说,飞力Concertor简化了泵送、清洁和维护,同时根据实时条件优化性能,降低能耗。该系统还具有可升级性,这意味着,运营方可在不损失初期投资的情况下,增添新功能。由于飞力Concertor能适应不同的环境,这就减少了满足所有应用所需的泵机种类。

全球客户正受益于飞力Concertor的创新功能。在2015至2016年间大约六个月的时间里,英国希思罗机场中央卫生单元的一个泵站每年的清洁维护成本节省了约87%。同样地,美国圣坦曼尼郡的一个泵站从2015年8月开始试用Concertor,由于非高峰期耗电量有所减少,每月能源成本节省1000美元

潜水泵系统的未来

 赛莱默工程师还在一如既往地问这样一个问题:我们的客户需要解决什么问题?从全球城市化趋势、不断上涨的能源成本和日益老化的基础设施来看,存在很多迫切的挑战。但也有全新的解决方案。

随着物联网和大数据的兴起,各个城市和公司正在以前所未有的方式连接设备和系统。这带来了新的机遇和挑战。联网能提高效率和降低成本,但也大大增加了生成的数据量。在污水行业,公用事业公司将需要新的解决方案来连接设备和系统,以及管理和分析他们所产生的数据。

2016年,赛莱默收购智能仪表、网络技术与先进数据分析解决方案领域的全球领导者Sensus。赛莱默现在正与Sensus合作,将智能产品和分析整合进污水系统,最大限度地降低客户的生命周期成本。

举例来说,计划外维护是导致公用事业公司设备成本增加的主要因素之一。那如果能避免计划外维护呢?在传统监控系统中,当发生溢流时,会触发警报,并出动维护人员。而该系统通过收集和分析数据,可以使用预测分析来防止溢流发生。

赛莱默也在研究创新的污水业务模式,将所有泵和重要设备都连接到云上。运营方不用再为如何了解和监控每个泵的确切状况而烦心。泵送系统将被远程监控,赛莱默的专家使用数据分析来确保最佳性能和预防性维护。

过去那些年,Sixten Englesson设想了如果将泵放在矿井底部能解决什么问题。如今,赛莱默则在设想将整个泵送系统放到云上能为客户解决哪些问题。

订阅MAKING WAVES

系列文章

聚焦:当下以及未来的公用事业挑战

开始阅读

时事通讯

Transforming industries with submersible pump innovation

2017 marked the 70th anniversary of the world’s first submersible Flygt pump. Xylem takes a look back at how submersible pump technology has advanced over the years, and at what we can expect in the future. In 2016, Xylem launched the world’s first wastewater pumping system with integrated intelligence. Learn how that technology will be taken further.

How do we create innovative products? At some point, every company in every industry faces this question. This was the case for our design engineers already in 1940, when the first Flygt pumps were produced. Xylem’s long and successful history of innovation is no doubt due to the technical expertise of our developers. However, no successful innovation can be created without one key element: knowledge about our customer’s pain points and critical processes.

It is precisely this knowledge that motivated engineer Sixten Englesson, based in Emmaboda, Sweden, to begin researching how to use a submerged pump for dewatering. Working for Flygt pumps as a design engineer since the early 1940s, he knew that our customers in the building sector needed this type of technology. This knowledge motivated him to work on his solution and develop a prototype in 1946.

One year later, in 1947, Englesson released a prototype for the world’s first-ever submersible dewatering pump. This innovation would transform entire industries, making the working lives of millions of people easier and helping companies work smarter and more efficiently.

How much has submersible pumping changed?

For over 70 years, Xylem’s Flygt brand has continuously improved submersible wastewater pumping and mixing. At each step of the way, Xylem engineers have asked, what problems do our customers need to solve? Over the years, the company has proven that innovation is part of its DNA. It has introduced state-of-the-art technologies like non-clog impellers, smart controls, and pumping stations designed to work more efficiently.

Then in 2016, Xylem made history again when it released the world’s first wastewater pumping system with integrated intelligence. Xylem’s Flygt brand has always focused on developing technology that helps communities work smarter, more sustainably and efficiently, and in safer environments. Here are some of the stories that have made Xylem who we are.

What the world did with a new kind of pump

In a black-and-white photo from 1947, Sixten Englesson stands in a dark suit with one hand in his pocket and the other holding the frame of his famous “Parrot Cage”, the prototype of the first submersible dewatering pump. Looking at the photo, you wouldn’t be able to guess what the pump could achieve. The submersible pump drained canals in Canada, pumped gold in Africa, and helped raise a 330-year-old warship from the bottom of the sea in Sweden.

What was so different about Englesson’s pump? Before it was invented, anyone who needed to pump water out of a mine or dewater a construction site had to use a pump on the surface. This involved a lot of hoses and platforms that had to be continuously moved. Pumps frequently burned out or were flooded. Many pumps also had their motors in a separate housing, which took up more space.

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER

Although submersible pumps for clean water had been available since the 1920s, they couldn’t handle tougher conditions. Englesson’s innovation to the submersible pump was protecting its motor with two mechanical flat seals. He also modified the pump so that its motor was cooled by the pumped medium. With these modifications, the Flygt B-pump was released to the market in 1948, and orders were soon coming in from around the world.

Everyone wanted wastewater pumping to be easier

The success of the Flygt B-pump led Englesson to start working on a submersible pump for wastewater. If dewatering was a challenge, transporting wastewater was even more challenging since the media is unpredictable. But Englesson had a few ideas that would transform another industry.

Almost a decade later, in 1956, the Flygt C-pump was launched with a number of features that saved time, space and money. It was the world’s first-ever submersible wastewater pump. In order to accommodate wastewater, the pump needed a bigger throughlet, but the main innovation was its self-locking connection. Workers only needed to lower the pump down and it connected itself. Since the motor was integrated into the pump, pumping stations could also be much smaller. These features lowered the overall investment cost.

An innovative spirit that continued to grow

Englesson’s curious mind wasn’t limited to pumps, he was also interested in aquaculture and fish farming. When he eventually left the company for other interests, his innovative spirit remained. Over the next several decades, Flygt continued to solve customer challenges through new technology and award-winning innovations.

In 1990s, engineers saw that there was a serious problem that needed solving: clogged pump impellers. Every time a wastewater pump clogged, maintenance crews needed to go out and unclog it, which was expensive and time consuming. Not to mention the problem of overflows and the risk to the environment.

To resolve this problem, in 1997 Flygt introduced the first N- pump. The pump had a clog-free hydraulic design called N-technology, which prevents clogging and reduces unplanned maintenance costs. Then in 2009, engineers enhanced the design by introducing the Adaptive N impeller. This impeller moves upwards to allow larger objects and debris to pass through. With these innovations, Xylem customers can today expect clog-free, high-efficiency wastewater pumping.

Making the perfect pump station

But there was more to be done. For decades, many pump stations were nothing more than flat-bottomed holes in the ground lined with concrete. Xylem’s Flygt engineers began researching how the shape of the pump sump in a station affected the flow of wastewater. They discovered that designing the shape of the bottom of the pump station in exactly the right way would significantly increase efficiency and eliminate cleaning, since this reduced unwanted sedimentation.

In 1997, the Flygt TOP pump station was released: a pre-engineered and packaged pump station solution that delivered superior performance. The design of the station increases turbulence and causes more solids to be removed from the sump. This leaves a minimum of residue beneath the pumps, which is ready to be removed during the next pump cycle. The TOP stations are also easy to install, with a compact design that doesn’t take up much space.

Creating the world’s smartest pump

From Sixten Englesson’s first submersible dewatering pump until today, Xylem engineers have always taken on the toughest challenges to make the work of customers easier. In 2016, they did it again with Flygt Concertor, the world’s first wastewater pumping system with integrated intelligence. This smart system senses the operating conditions of its environment, adapts its performance in real time and provides feedback to pumping station operators.

Flygt Concertor also introduces unprecedented flexibility into pumping systems. It has a performance field with infinite performance curves, and the system is pre-engineered to save time and costs from the moment of installation.

The pumping system also combines built-in sump and pipe cleaning functionalities into a single integrated solution, able to handle floating debris as well as pipe sedimentation. This pump cleaning function, together with Adaptive N-hydraulics, effectively detects and solves clogging from large debris.

Overall, Flygt Concertor simplifies pumping, cleaning and maintenance, while reducing energy use with optimal performance based on real-time conditions. The system is also scalable, which means that operators can add new functionality without losing their initial investment. Since Flygt Concertor can adapt to different conditions, this reduces the variety of pumps needed to cover all applications.

Customers around the world are already benefitting from Flygt Concertor’s innovative features. In a period of approximately six months between 2015 and 2016, a pumping station in the Heathrow Airport Central Sanitation Unit (UK) saved approximately 87 percent of its annual costs in cleaning and servicing.  Similarly, a station in St. Tammany Parish (USA) that trialed Concertor, starting in August 2015, saved $1,000 in energy per month due to reduced power consumption during off-peak periods.

The future of submersible pumping systems

As always, Xylem engineers are continuing to ask the question: what problems do our customers need to solve? Looking at global trends of urbanization, increasing energy costs and aging infrastructure, there are a number of pressing challenges. But there are also entirely new solutions.

With the rise of the Internet of Things and big data, cities and companies are connecting device and systems like never before. This brings new opportunities and new challenges. Connectivity can increase efficiency and lower costs, but it also significantly increases the amount of data generated. In the wastewater sector, utilities will need new solutions to connect equipment and systems and to manage and analyze the data they produce.

In 2016, Xylem acquired Sensus, a global leader in smart meters, network technologies and advanced data analytics solutions. Xylem is now working with Sensus to combine smart products and analytics into wastewater systems that will deliver the lowest possible lifecycle costs to customers.

Unplanned maintenance, for example, is one of the key drivers of costs that utilities have for their equipment. But what if unplanned maintenance could be eliminated? In traditional monitoring systems, an alarm is triggered when there is an overflow and a maintenance crew is called out. By collecting and analyzing data, however, the system could use predictive analytics to stop the overflow from ever happening.

Xylem is also investigating innovative new business models for the wastewater, in which all pumps and vital equipment are connected to the cloud. Operators would no longer need to worry about learning and monitoring the exact right setting for each pump. Instead, pumping systems would be monitored remotely, with Xylem specialists using data analytics to ensure optimal performance and preventative maintenance.

All those years ago, Sixten Englesson imagined what problems he could solve if a pump was placed at the bottom of a mine. Today, Xylem imagines the problems it could solve for customers by putting entire pumping systems in the cloud.

SUBSCRIBE TO MAKING WAVES

Article Series

In Focus: public utility challenges today and tomorrow

Start reading

Newsletter